The architects drew their inspiration from the original building when they added 161 condo units to the site, including 15 maisonettes. Three-, four- and five-and-a-half room apartments, as well as terrace apartments, were distributed throughout the two new eight-storey buildings. The old building, built in 1895 by the Sadler family, was transformed into 17 loft-style units. Two floors were added, set back far enough from the street to reduce the impact.
This architectural project was designed to respect the former factory’s architectural character; the height of the new buildings, the choice of materials and the proportions of the facades are all a testament to this, as is the way in which doorways, windows, and balconies are treated. A swimming pool and an "urban chalet" were added on one of the rooftops, and two floors of underground parking have been integrated into the project.
One of the most interesting features of the Le William complex is the peaceful and modern green oasis placed right at the heart of it. In keeping with the practice of applying the principles of sustainable development, notably the reduction of heat islands in an urban environment, the architects have given particular importance to the addition of this green space for the project. The garden is accessible to all and visible from the staggered balconies that brighten up the new facades.